Yoga and going out of my comfort zone- Week 5 of Wild Workout Wednesday linkup

Welcome to Week 5 of the Wild Workout Wednesday!!  To add your post to the linkup click on the blue box below and for instructions on the linkup click here.  Be sure you grab our badge from my sidebar and link it back in your blog post.

WildWorkoutWed_#5

This year I’m all about trying new things and going out of my comfort zone. I have decided to start practicing yoga about 1-2 times a week. I have been doing this since January and I love it! I have been participating in 30 day challenges on Instagram. You can check out some of my poses on my instagram page (badge on sidebar). Instagram challenges are great because you have the hosts teaching you how to do the moves and you can ask them any questions you have about the pose or yoga in general. I used to practice yoga in High School and college and I found out that I lost all of my flexibility. That’s ok, that is something I need to work on.

I currently lift weights and do cardio about 5 times a week but yoga is completely different. Yoga requires flexibility, lots of arm strength and endurance. I never believed people when they said that yoga is relaxing but now that I am doing it I feel so much more relaxed afterwards. We all can use about 20-30 min a few times a week to just sit, relax and close our eyes. If you are a beginner, there are many different websites online that can help you start and guide you through the process.

I also bought a few new yoga pants to practice in ( just for fun). I will use any excuse to buy new workout clothes (any type of clothes actually). I bought a few mermaid tights and a few others with bright and bold prints. There are a few things I would like to accomplish with yoga:

1. Increase my overall flexibility

2. Gain a lot of arm strength. My arms are very weak, probably the weakest part of my body.

3. My ultimate goal is to be able to do a one arm handstand.

Who is interested in yoga? I would love to hear your experiences with yoga in the comments below. 🙂

I love reading everyone’s posts each week and getting to know a little bit about my fellow bloggers. Can’t wait to read all of the posts this week! 🙂

photo pic

About prettyinpinkfitness

I am a mom of a beautiful baby girl and I have been married to my husband for 8 years. I am an online fitness coach with Beachbody. I am passionate about helping people reach their fitness goals and become a better version of themselves. I also love discussing anything related to clean eating and fashion.

Posted on February 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I am SO bad at yoga- something I definitely need to practice more often as well 🙂

    Like

  2. I struggle with yoga as well, but I’m working on it. I’m participating in an instagram yoga challenge right now. I agree, it’s a great way to learn new poses! I’m heading over there to follow you now! I can always use more workout inspiration. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m also trying yoga this year and it’s fun but challenging! Check out Yoga With Adrienne on YouTube – she is awesome and so great for newbies like me!

    Like

  4. Wow I actually found your page through the Fit giveaway 2015. I liked your page but what caught my eye was the Wild Wednesday Workout, which brought me here! You had me at trying new things and getting out of your comfort zone, Totally ME! I’m also participating in the #TaketheLeap yoga challenge, which is so out of my element! A friend tagged me and I thought I’d give it a try. I had taken only 1 yoga class before and now I’ve got a whopping 2 under my belt. But I’ve made some changes to my schedule and this morning I even took 15 minutes to do some morning stretching. I look forward to connecting with you and reading your blog. 🙂

    Like

  5. I’ve been loving practicing more so far! I’m gaining a lot of upper body strength since I started doing arm balances and inversions, so you will totally get there!

    Like

  6. Love the post! I practiced yoga before getting pregnant with my second kiddo. I definitely noticed an increase in flexibility during that time. I don’t even know why I stopped, but this post inspired me to look back into it. I like the idea of the instagram 30 day challenges! Thanks for mentioning that! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

