Guest Post- Protein spice mug cake

We have a great recipe for Pumpkin Spice Mug Cake from Rachel, just in time for fall! Rachel is a 30 year old stay-at-home mom of one. She is a health and fitness enthusiast with a love for bodybuilding, running and barre classes. She has a passion for strong coffee, peanut butter and sneakers. If she’s not in the gym or out for a run you can find her spending time with her thirteen-month old son, Lucas amazing husband of six years, Brian and their dog Berklee. Rachael loves to travel to new and exciting places and is always up for the next adventure. She is currently studying for her ACE Personal Training certification and her nutritional sciences degree. Her focus is on postpartum and female health and wellness. You can find out more about Rachael on her websiteDiapers & Dumbbells (www.rachaelnovello.com), Twitter (@RachaelNovello), Instagram (@RaichaelKatherine) or on Facebook (www.facebook.com/DiapersandDumbells). 

I don’t know about you but typically when this time of year rolls around, when the days are shorter and the weather starts to cool, I start going into hibernation mode. I know I have a minimum of four months ahead of oversized sweaters, holiday parties and dinners filled with my favorite comfort foods. One thing that I love more than anything in the fall, as many people do, is all things pumpkin! From pumpkin spiced lattes, to pasta dishes and donuts there is something about biting into that sweet and savory flavor that just puts me in an autumn mood.

Thanksgiving is a huge holiday in my house. My mother has been hosting it for about ten years now and there is usually anywhere from 10 to 40 (yes forty) people there. We have a delicious buffet filled with all the standard foods followed by an even more decadent buffet of delicious desserts. Each year our family friend Judy brings a pumpkin cheesecake that is to die-for! I dream about that dessert in the weeks leading up to Thanksgiving! Unfortunately, as desserts go, there isn’t a single “healthy” one on the menu. Everything is rich, dense and albeit amazing – really not good for the waistline. I’ve tried my fair share of “diet” desserts in the past but haven’t ever found one that really does the trick until recently.

One of my dear friends and fellow fitness lovers came up with a handful of really quite tasty and easy-to-make dessert recipes. I’ve tried a handful of them and am continually surprised at the flavor. You would never know you were eating something healthy! Recently she came up with a mug-cake recipe that I took and adapted to my never-ending pumpkin obsession!

I knew it was a winner when my thirteen month old son couldn’t get enough of it!! One of the best things about this recipe is that it makes ONE single serving. There are no leftovers to taunt me from the fridge! It’s one that you can make on a whim when you need something to calm your sweet-tooth but when you’re done eating it there’s no guilt or dessert-hangover to deal with!

From my Fit Family to Yours — Bon Appetit!

I don’t know about you but typically when this time of year rolls around, when the days are shorter and the weather starts to cool, I start going into hibernation mode. I know I have a minimum of four months ahead of oversized sweaters, holiday parties and dinners filled with my favorite comfort foods. One thing that I love more than anything in the fall, as many people do, is all things pumpkin! From pumpkin spiced lattes, to pasta dishes and donuts there is something about biting into that sweet and savory flavor that just puts me in an autumn mood.

Thanksgiving is a huge holiday in my house. My mother has been hosting it for about ten years now and there is usually anywhere from 10 to 40 (yes forty) people there. We have a delicious buffet filled with all the standard foods followed by an even more decadent buffet of delicious desserts. Each year our family friend Judy brings a pumpkin cheesecake that is to die-for! I dream about that dessert in the weeks leading up to Thanksgiving! Unfortunately, as desserts go, there isn’t a single “healthy” one on the menu. Everything is rich, dense and albeit amazing – really not good for the waistline. I’ve tried my fair share of “diet” desserts in the past but haven’t ever found one that really does the trick until recently.

One of my dear friends and fellow fitness lovers came up with a handful of really quite tasty and easy-to-make dessert recipes. I’ve tried a handful of them and am continually surprised at the flavor. You would never know you were eating something healthy! Recently she came up with a mug-cake recipe that I took and adapted to my never-ending pumpkin obsession!

I knew it was a winner when my thirteen month old son couldn’t get enough of it!! One of the best things about this recipe is that it makes ONE single serving. There are no leftovers to taunt me from the fridge! It’s one that you can make on a whim when you need something to calm your sweet-tooth but when you’re done eating it there’s no guilt or dessert-hangover to deal with!

From my Fit Family to Yours — Bon Appetit!

Protein Pumpkin Spice Mug Cake

Ingredients

For the Cake:

  • 2 tbls Coconut Flour
  • 5 tsp (7g) Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 1 packet Stevia
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • ¼ cup Pumpkin Pie filling (puree)
  • 2 tbls fat free Vanilla Greek Yogurt
  • 3 tbls liquid egg whites
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract

For the Frosting:

  • 2 tbls fat free cream cheese
  • 1 tsp (5g) fat free, sugar free Cheesecake Pudding Mix
  • 2 tbls fat free Vanilla Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp Pumpkin Pie filling

Directions

For the Cake:

  • In a small bowl mix together the dry ingredients, then whisk in the wet ingredients – mix until well combined.
  • Spray a small bowl or coffee mug with non-stick spray such as PAM
  • Pour the cake batter into the mug and let sit for 2-3 minutes to settle
  • Microwave for 2:20 minutes stopping at 30 second intervals to check on firmness. Depending on your microwave’s power it might take more or less time to cook through.
  • Remove the cake from the mug and while it’s cooling make the frosting.

For the Frosting:

  • Mix all ingredients together until smooth

To Assemble:

  • Slice mug-cake in half and spread frosting on both sides
  • Top with some festive fall sprinkles and enjoy!

0168

mugcake

mugcake2

mugcake3

mugcake4

mugcake5

mugcake6

FinalProduct

About prettyinpinkfitness

I am a mom of a beautiful baby girl and I have been married to my husband for 8 years. I am an online fitness coach with Beachbody. I am passionate about helping people reach their fitness goals and become a better version of themselves. I also love discussing anything related to clean eating and fashion.

Posted on October 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yum I would love this recipe but I can’t get the link to open up for me (it’s having me request permission through google).

    Like

Leave a Reply

