Weakest link in healthy living

My weakest link in healthy living

I feel like I live a healthy life, I eat clean 90% of the time and I work out 5-6 days a week.  As we know, nobody is perfect and there is something that I would like to improve on.  When I wake up with my baby at 3 am I fell hungry.  Eating that late at night at night is never good.  Sometimes I will eat granola cereal or some nuts.  Although I do not do this every night, it does add up and it is preventing me from reaching my fitness goals.

There are some ways to help curb your cravings at night.  I have started implementing them and they are working.  I don’t think I was eating enough during the day because I am so busy with my baby.  I have made an effort to eat more during the day and to make sure I’m eating nutritious food.  I also try to eat a little more for dinner.  Not necessarily more carbs, but I eat more protein and vegetables.  This is working and it is keeping me full during the night.  When I wake up to feed my baby, I am not hungry.  Eating regularly throughout the day keeps your blood sugar levels stable, keeps your metabolism going and it also reduces late night cravings.

I used to buy unhealthy food from time to time for my occasional splurges.  Unfortunately I was starting to eat that late at night and I knew it was going to lead to trouble.  I don’t keep any unhealthy foods in the house anymore.  My husband and I go out to restaurants if we feel like splurging a little. “Out of sight, out of mind.”

I think I would eat late at night because I would get bored because I was not able to go back to sleep. I would just make an effort not to eat and just go back into bed and sleep.  I would fall asleep right away.  That means I was not hungry, just bored.  Many people eat out of boredom when they are not really hungry.

I have been implementing this strategy for almost two weeks and it has been working so far.  I am getting closer to reaching my fitness goals and that is making me very happy.  Late night eating has always been a problem for me but I think I finally have it under control.

I love participating in the fit pepper and fit switch link up every week.  This is a great way to meet fellow bloggers and to get some nutritional and fitness tips. Check out their pages for information on the link up!

fruits

About prettyinpinkfitness

I am a mom of a beautiful baby girl and I have been married to my husband for 8 years. I am an online fitness coach with Beachbody. I am passionate about helping people reach their fitness goals and become a better version of themselves. I also love discussing anything related to clean eating and fashion.

Posted on October 7, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I get hungry at night so often eat too. I can’t go to bed on a “full” stomach but I definitely need a snack or two about an hour before bed. I find that if I am in front of the TV I pick not so great snacks so have been trying to stick with nuts lately. A better option!

    Like

  2. jessicajoydurfee

    So happy you joined us this week! This is a great post that I can relate to. I am so impressed by how you’re listening to your body, setting goals, and taking charge. Great job! I think it’s awesome how you have planned to eat more during the day, to not need to snack at night. Smart momma! Oh, I remember mid-night feedings. You’re doing awesome. What a lucky baby! Take care, and see you next time!

    Like

  3. When my son was first born and waking up in the middle of the night, I’d get really hungry and snack too — I just don’t think my body was used to being awake at that time so it just assumed it was time for breakfast! lol

    Like

  4. I love this post! I can totally relate to those night feedings! Hang in there momma!!

    Like

  5. Sometimes I make tea and sip on that at night when I want to just munch out of boredom, it usually helps and after I finish the tea, enough time has passed that I no longer want to eat…unless I am actually hungry… and if you wake up and are really starving, I think we are better off eating a little something if our bodies need it, no mater what time it is! Great to ‘meet’ you through the link up!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

