The steps I use for meal prepping

I love to eat clean with the occasional splurge from time to time.  I eat clean about 95% of the time.  How do I do this?  I follow a very simple mantra.  “If you fail to prepare, you prepare to fail.”  Meal prepping saves me from grabbing any type of junk food or basically anything unhealthy.  I would much rather choose something clean and healthy over junk food.  Also, at the end of the day when I’m tired, the last thing I want to do is cook and spend time in the kitchen.  I would rather spend time with my little girl than spend time cooking.  I follow the same meal prepping routine every weekend (most of the time) :

  1. I go to the grocery store on Saturday or Sunday morning.  I make sure I stick to my list and I don’t deviate from the list.  A good tip is not to go to the grocery store hungry because if you do, you will want to buy everything in sight!
  2. Sunday afternoons is usually my time to meal prep (while my husband spends time with our little girl). This usually takes me about 2-3 hours but it is worth it at the end of the day. First I cook the meat (usually chicken).  First I make slits in the chicken then I use flavor god spices and sometimes squeeze fresh orange juice on the chicken.  I put the chicken in the fridge and let it marinade for about an hour.
  3. While the chicken is marinating I cook the veggies. I wash and cut the veggies, chop onions and bell peppers.  I mix everything with coconut oil, little salt and lots of black pepper.  I put that mixture aside.
  4. I take the chicken out of the fridge and mix the chicken with the spices one last time. Then I put it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 min. I cover the pan with foil so the meat does not dry out.
  5. After the chicken is done, I cover the veggies and put it in the oven for about 20 min. I like the veggies on the softer side so if they are still hard after 20 min I will put them back in the oven.
  6. My husband and I usually eat ezeickel tortilla with our dinner so I don’t have to make any carbs beforehand. Occasionally we eat brown rice but that’s not a big deal because it takes 20 minutes to cook in the pressure cooker.
  7. Lastly, I have to clean the dishes, the worst part of meal prepping. I try to clean up as I go along but I still end up with a lot of dishes.  This only takes me about 15-20 minutes.
  8. Most people portion out their meals into container but I don’t do that. I don’t measure my food or count calories.  I just eat until I’m full and satisfied.  We are all different so counting calories and measuring food might work for some people.  I have tried it before and it just doesn’t work for me.  Instead I just put my food in huge containers and most of the time it will last us for about 3-4 days.

I have been meal prepping for a little over a year and I love it.  It also eliminates the decision making every night of what I should make for dinner. If you are the type person that likes different types of food every night you can still do meal prepping.  You can make a variety of food but in smaller quantities.

My chicken that I cooked for the week.  Very flavorful! :)

My chicken that I cooked for the week. Very flavorful! 🙂

What are some of the things you do on your meal prep days?  I would love to hear it!

About prettyinpinkfitness

I am a mom of a beautiful baby girl and I have been married to my husband for 8 years. I am an online fitness coach with Beachbody. I am passionate about helping people reach their fitness goals and become a better version of themselves. I also love discussing anything related to clean eating and fashion.

Posted on October 3, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I should meal prep more but I dont 😦 I eat out way too much

    ❤ jamaica
    http://www.rarax3.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

