Working Out With Kids In The House

Who has trouble getting in a workout with kids in the house? It is very difficult to workout when you have kids running around, trying to cooking diner, fold laundry and trying to tackle other household chores.  I have a six month old daughter and I know if I wait till nighttime to workout after a full day of activities I will most likely skip it.  Over the past six months I have found a balance of what works for me.  Here are my tips on working out with children in the house.

  1. Workout while your baby is taking a nap.  Once your baby gets on a sleeping routine, they will have more predictable sleeping patterns.  My little girl usually takes about 2 hour naps during the day.  This is a great time for me to workout.  I start working out as soon as she goes down for a nap because it’s not always an exact two hour nap every time.  I usually don’t workout for the full two hours.  I still need some time to do other things around the house.  I am currently doing an intense 25 min exercise routine called T25.  If you would like more information on this exercise routine, feel free to leave a message below.
  2. Another option would be to wakeup early in the morning while everyone in the house is still sleeping.  I’ll admit that I have never tried this but I know this works for a lot of people.  It’s easier to get it done first thing in the morning so you can go about your other daily activities and not have to find time throughout the day.  Most likely you will not have any interruptions early in the morning and you van have some alone time.
  3. I know that when you have kids you are so preoccupied with taking care of them but you have to make sure you are eating properly and getting the proper nutrients. We need to eat properly so we can have the energy to run around after the kids and workout effectively.  I find that I stay on track when I meal prep.  I usually prep meals for the entire week and keep them in containers in the fridge.  When I do this it’s so easy to stay on track and eat what is in the fridge.  When you get hungry it’s very easy to grab whatever is laying around and make unhealthy choices
  4. I like to plan my workouts for the week and incorporate my rest day according to my schedule for the week.  Most of the workout videos I have come with a schedule so I usually stick to it.  I figure if a master trainer came up with the workout schedule it should be effective for me.  If you create your own workouts you can schedule leg, arm, ab days so you know what area of the body you are training on a daily basis.

These tips have worked wonders for me the past few months while I have been adjusting to mommyhood. I don’t workout or do anything around the house when my baby is awake because I want to be able to spend that time with her.  Most importantly, enjoy your kids and have fun with them!

mom picture

About prettyinpinkfitness

I am a mom of a beautiful baby girl and I have been married to my husband for 8 years. I am an online fitness coach with Beachbody. I am passionate about helping people reach their fitness goals and become a better version of themselves. I also love discussing anything related to clean eating and fashion.

Posted on September 19, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

